After my previous Bungubox ink review, I realize that people spell it all manner of ways.  The official name for it is Bungubox, but I have also seen it as:  Bungu Box, Bungbox, Bung Box, Bung-Box, etc.  For the purposes of these reviews I will start calling it simply Bungubox.

These inks have amazing qualities and I can never get enough of them.  I am usually not one for red inks, but I just couldn’t resist trying a Bungubox red.

For this review I inked my Pilot Custom 74.  Great pen, with a nice wet line.  The only thing that sucks about it is the converter, blah!


As you can see it is quite a bright red, even in the bottle and pen.  Such a happy color!  ^_^

It was even a pleasure to see this one on the nib:

InkJournal Entry:


Line going down on CF Paper, and yes I totally did accidentally dot an “R” lol don’t judge me ^_^:

 

It is a truly fabulous bright red with orange tones and SHEEN.  The flow was great as well, the only thing that I thought was missing was the amazing Bungubox shading thats usually present.  There is some shading but nothing overwhelming.  Upon seeing this color I was reminded of another Japanese ink, Pilot Iroshizuku Momiji, so I decided to do a short comparison.


Both are beautiful red inks that sheen, although Momiji seems to have a darker base color.  There seem to be more orange tones in the Bungubox Lycoris Red than the Momiji.

img_2507

img_2499

There is a significant difference in price.  The Bungubox ink was $43.00 with free shipping from Vanness, and the Momiji I found for around $18.00 shipped from Amazon.  It is worth mentioning that the Momiji was shipped directly from Japan and therefore took quite a while to get here, the Bungubox ink got to me in less than a week.  Even if I were to have gotten the Pilot Iro ink here though, the price would have been around $28.00, much less than a Bungubox ink.

I believe this inks are different enough to warrant getting both, it is nice to have a red with and without that neon type quality that the Lycoris has.