Before I ordered this ink I had never heard of Sanko-do, a stationary store in Japan.  Japan seems to have a lot of limited editions for specialty shops and I am truly thankful for that!  Adds a new dimension to the ink game ^_^

In hindsight I should have ordered more of these colors, but for some reason I decided to start with the pink.  This particular one is called Yamazakigawa.  A Japanese friend said that Yamazaki is near the store, and Gawa means river.  I wonder if they have a pink river nearby?  lol kidding.

The packaging for this looks like it was custom made for this series and not just a Sailor box with a sticker over the front.

img_4390

It comes in the standard Sailor bottle with the plastic miser.

IMG_4392.jpg

For this review I decided to ink up my Pelikan M805 Stresemann F Nib.  It is a wonderful writer, smooth and wet!

img_4388

InkJournal Entry:

IMG_4446.jpg

Line going down on 68GSM Tomoe:

Ink Blob:

img_4441

My first thought was:  Kingdom Note Mycena Pura, is that you?  The color itself is very similar, right down to the characteristics and the blob.  It makes me wonder if its a case of rebottling the same ink for a different store.  I have had my suspicions about Sailor doing this before with Bungubox L’Amant and Kingdom Note Thysanostoma Thysanura.  It does not seem beyond the realm of possibility, as all of these inks are produced by Sailor.  I just wish that it were more known, I could save myself the trouble buying $50+ ink if I already have basically the same color in another bottle.

Luckily I LOVE this color, its a wet ink in a soft, dainty pink.  It has great shading, and I will definitely go through both of these bottles at some point.

What do you think?  Are the colors similar?  Or is it just my eyes?  ^_^