For the majority of my short FP loving life, Iron Gall ink was intimidating.  There are warnings about corrosion and who wants that?  Luckily there are also a lot of resources about how to clean a pen that is used with IG ink.  I decided to take the plunge with KWZ IG Violet #3, KWZ inks have always been very well-behaved, and the color looked fantastic!  More on that in a bit.

KWZ has awesome packaging.  It comes in a cardboard box, glass bottle, and even has a plastic wrap around the bottle to prevent a nasty spill.

This review was just calling for my Pelikan M600 M Nib, it has a gold nib which shouldn’t be damaged by IG ink, and its a very wet writer.

InkJournal Entry:

IMG_4717.jpg

Line going down on 68GSM Tomoe:

Ink Blob:

IMG_4724.jpg

The ink dries to a deep purple with a ghostly white sheen, similar to the sheen on the MB Lucky Orange.  But that isn’t the interesting part.  The really cool part for me was in how this ink goes on and then dries.  Upon application the ink is a lovely magenta shade that fast turns into the deep purple final product.  This is best illustrated with photo/video, the first is of a time-lapse that shows the ink drying.

img_4713

All 3 of the Squishy-Ink.com were written with the same pen within seconds of each other.  This is by far my favorite ink to actually write with, the range is amazing!  I’ve seen variation in drying before but it has never been this dramatic.  I wonder if the other IG colors are like this?  I think this calls for further experimentation…*goes to order more ink*.  Like I needed an excuse right ^_^

What is the most interesting ink phenomenon you’ve ever seen?