Have you ever accidentally bought an ink?  That is sort of what happened here.  Green/Yellow is usually not my cup of tea, however I was wandering the ink auctions and came across this bottle.


My fault for not reading the title of the auction lol, but I thought it was blue.  In any case the bottle was interesting enough for me not to have toooo much buyer’s remorse and I figured this would broaden the scope of my ink collection.  Look at how easy it is to make the mistake.  There’s just a little yellow dot on the top of the box, and the top of the cap is blue.


I couldn’t find much about this ink online but it seems to be a limited edition for the Japanese store Shosaikan, there were two colors, this one called Shinzan and a blue one that I thought I bid on lol.

For this review I decided to ink up my trusty Pelikan M205 Amethyst, it is a reliable and generally wet writer.  For the amount of money I spent on a color I wasn’t sure about, I wanted to give this ink every chance to sheen!

InkJournal Entry:


Line going down on 68GSM Tomoe:

​​
​

Ink Blob:


I found this ink to have a somewhat dry flow, a low saturation, but nice shading.  The blob has an odd white-ish sheen, but nothing spectacular.  I prefer Tokiwa-Matsu to this, for value and color.  I would not go out of my way to buy another bottle of this ink.  Sailor inks rarely disappoint me, but I suppose at least I have another awesome old Sailor bottle.  I would also like to note that this ink totally made me want some seaweed soup…

Anyone else ever have ink regret?

