It must be Monday, I took a bunch of photos for my R & K Alt-Bordeaux Review with R & K Magenta ink lol, this will become apparent when you get to the ink blob -_-.

When I think of R & K ink I usually think of the Iron Gall varieties, and as an ink newbie I was surprised to hear that they had standard inks as well.  The standard ink range is much larger than their IG range, with the inks I did have the pleasure of trying, being very well behaved.

These are relatively low cost inks and don’t come in a cardboard box with all the bells and whistles, just a regular bottle which seems to be glass and a metal cap.


For this review I decided to ink up a TWSBI Eco White with Bold Nib.  TWSBI has given me a lot of problems in the past, with their customer service being lacking, so this was a last chance pen order.  I am happy to say that this pen is well behaved for the most part and will be featured in a future review.

InkJournal Entry:


Line going down on 68GSM Tomoe:

​​

Ink Blob:


This is a beautiful ink, it reminds me a lot of Iroshizuku Yama-Budo, but without all that glorious gold sheen.  This ink has a sheen but only in the wettest of conditions.  The ink is EXTREMELY wet, I would say almost too wet and takes a very long time to dry on tomoe paper.  With a drier pen this may not have been a problem.  If you don’t mind the lack of sheen, this may be a cost effective alternative to Yama-Budo.  One can never have too many wine colors!  And besides it makes the pen look great ^_^

