I didn’t think that I liked brown ink, in fact I thought it was boring up until very recently.  Bungubox Clown Tears sparked my interest in browns, so when an opportunity for a bottle of the fabled Maruzen Renga Brown came up, I took it!

It comes in a well made paper type box with Athena embossed on it in silver.  Much better than the Sailor boxes with the labels stuck over them.



Lets just take a moment to admire the fabulous bottle.


For this review I decided to ink up my Pelikan M805 Stresemann, it is a reliable wet writer that is a joy to handle.  The photo was taken pre-ink, so yes that is Ku-Jaku on it lol.


InkJournal Entry:


Line going down on 68GSM Tomoe Paper:

​​
​Ink Blob:


This is one beautiful ink!  It has a dramatic amount of shading, and even a hint of sheen.  The color varies from a near black to a chocolate type brown.  It has a great flow and is definitely legible.  Not disappointed at all in this grail ink!  It really made me want to draw some sort of plant lol so I used it to doodle in my Hobonichi.


What do you think of this ink?  What is your favorite brown?  I need more!  ^_^

