In my relentless search for pinky tones, I came across an ink brand called L’Artisan Pastellier who have a line of inks called Callifolio.  These inks are made in France and from what I read can be mixed.

I automatically fell in love with the color swatch for Andrinople.  It looked like a bright red/pink which is right up my alley.  The cost was also very good, the lovely cake shaped 40ML bottle is only $12.00 from Vanness.  It can also be had in a 50ML pouch for $8.00 if you have your own bottle.  But seriously who can resist this cake shaped beauty?  It can’t be wrong!

For this review I inked up my Pilot Custom 74, it is a reliable writer with a wet flow which was important due to the warnings of dry flow.

InkJournal Entry:


Line going down on CF Paper.  This is what happens when you try to do a video one handed lol!

​​

It is worth noting here that this color seemed to be much more dependent on ink flow than others.  When it is wetter the color turns into a more red hue.


And on the dry end, the color is the beautiful pink I love.


This means that there’s the potential for dramatic shading which to me is always a plus!  Sadly no sheen present 😭

Oddly I do not mind the dry flow of this ink, I thought it might be a problem, but in a wet pen it still performs nicely.  The color is gorgeous, and sort of has a for lack of a better term, yogurt type of finish when it dries, similar to KWZ ink.  I think there will be more of these inks in my future…and perhaps one day I will get brave enough to mix them!  😍😜

