When I first entered the fountain pen world I was amazed at how many brands of fountain pen there were.  Previously I had just heard of Montblanc and Parker.  Visconti was one of the names that kept coming up so I decided to try one.  I love items with a cause, so the Merry-Go-Round Rembrandt seemed a great entry level Visconti to try.  I just had to have the 23k DreamTouch Nib though, and lucky the good people at Lacouronne Du Comte were able to sell me the pen with the nib upgrade right out of the box.

I have to say that I was an it disappointed with the presentation of the pen.  It was wrapped in a plastic and kind of just held by some sort of band to the box.  I had taken the plastic off for the photo but thought the photo would look better without it at the time.  The rest of the box had a nice soft touch feel, I would probably give it a 6/10 for total presentation.


The pen itself feels nice and sturdy, yet is also light.  I requested that the boutique find me one with bold coloring and they certainly did just that.  The cap has a lot of blue on one side and the rest has beautiful swirls of color.  No complaints at all!

I have to admit that I am a bit disappointed at the 23k DreamTouch nib that had such excellent reviews.  The one I received seems to have hard starts and the flow doesn’t seem as great as my other pens.  I am not sure if it is only a problem with mine, but it was disappointing nonetheless.


Despite that, it is a great pen for the price!  I would like to add more Visconti’s to my collection, but they aren’t a top priority.  Pelikan’s just seem to treat me better 🙂

